Proposed name changes for the FMA

min read
A- A+

The New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa have opened for public consultation the proposed name changes for the Fiordland Marine Area.  The proposal is for dual te reo Māori and English names for the 16 sounds and inlets in Fiordland.

Public consultation will run for three months from 20 May to 20 August 2019.

The board says restoring traditional Ngāi Tahu names alongside well-known and established English names will recognise the significance of both names and provide a window to rich stories in both Māori and English.

While most of the sounds and inlets in Fiordland are, in strict geographic terms, fiords, the board agreed to retain ‘Sound’ and ‘Inlet’ in the proposed official names because of their long-established common use.

Nancy Sound to Hinenui / Nancy Sound

Bradshaw Sound to Kaikiekie / Bradshaw Sound

Edwardson Sound to Moana-whenua-pōuri / Edwardson Sound

Preservation Inlet to Rakituma / Preservation Inlet

Chalky Inlet to Taiari / Chalky Inlet

Charles Sound to Taiporoporo / Charles Sound

Caswell Sound to Taitetimu / Caswell Sound

Dusky Sound to Tamatea / Dusky Sound

Thompson Sound to Te Awa-o-Tū / Thompson Sound

Long Sound to Te Awaroa / Long Sound

Sutherland Sound to Te Hāpua / Sutherland Sound

George Sound to Te Houhou / George Sound

Cunaris Sound to Te Korowhakaunu / Cunaris Sound

Breaksea Sound to Te Puaitaha / Breaksea Sound

Dagg Sound to Te Rā / Dagg Sound

The NZ Gazette notice is also on the Internal Affairs and LINZ websites.